Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is an obvious fact that technology has had an influence on communication between people. It has taken effect on our relationships in variety of ways. And I am of the opinion that there are both positive and negative effects.

Earlier, there are several ways in which new technology has impacted on the way people communicate with each other. Firstly, social media like telephones or the Internet allow businessmen to interact people in other countries with online meeting, especially in the period of social distancing owing to Covid-19. Secondly, social networks such as Facebook, Wechat or Instagram help people make many new friends, find people having common interests or chat with friends. Finally, student can study online through websites and softwares to review and enrich their knowledge after school, or they are able to learn with teachers through computers or smartphones rather than face to face.

On the other hand, the impact of new technologies in social lives can be extremely positive. In today’s world, social media plays an important role in the types of relationships . Interactions by email, phone or video can avoid the limitation of written letters or face-to-face meetings, and many of us take advantages from these interactions, either in work or in study. However, technology may not always be positive. It is evident that when people rely on it, their ability to communicate with each other reduces. Furthermore, when they use more 150 times per week, the rate of information overload or addition will increase and will be rejuvenated.

To sum up, technology has brought many positive developments in the ways people communicate with each other. Besides, there are some negative impacts of technology on people’s relationships.