Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is argued in recent times there has been rampant growth in waste generation. This essay will argue that this is because of the usage of plastic materials and items, and the possible solution is to levy an additional charge on products.

The primary reason for an increase in trash nowadays is because of the excessive use of plastic items. This is to say that people consume more plastic goods because they are light in weight, easy to use, and less expensive. The main source of plastic waste is polythene packets, pet bottles, and packaging materials. These items are non-biodegradable, which means they cannot be decomposed in the soil, thereby it adds up to the existing rubbish dump. For example, as per an article published by The Times Magazine, there 3.1 million tons of plastic consumed in the USA every year, and 67% of it makes it to landfill dump area in Florida.

A long term solution to this predicament is to increase the tax rate on items that are not biodegradable. In other words, this will make the price of goods more expensive because it will make the cost of manufacturing expensive and the producer will pass on this hike to the customer. Consumers will feel discouraged and will reduce consumption or stop using. Therefore the demand will fall, and it will lead to a decline in garbage waste. For example, as per an article published by The Times Magazine, the government of Ireland introduced a 10% plastic tax in the year 2016, and in the following year country's waste produce dramatically declined from 2.1 million tons to 1.4 million tons.

In conclusion, the chief reason for a surge in the trash is because of excessive usage of plastics and the most effective solution is to introduce a new tax on items that cannot be disposed of.