The level of noise around us is constantly increasing, and affecting the quality of our lives. What causes this noise? What should be done about it?

It is argued that the quality of living has been impacted because of a rise in the level of sound. This essay will argue that the main cause of this is an increase in road traffic, and the possible solution is to plant more trees.

The primary reason for a surge in sound level nowadays is because the number of vehicles on road has increased than earlier. This is to say that sound produced by tires on breaking, speed acceleration, noise from the engine, and honking is the main source of sound pollution on-road and the level of noise is increasing with additional numbers of cars being added on the street frequently. For example, as per research in Vietnam there are 5000 vehicles which include two-wheelers and four-wheelers are added on to the road and therefore increasing the sound level to 55 decibels during peak hours.

The most viable solution to combat the increasing level of noise is by planting trees on both sides of the road. This is to say that dense trees or shrubs would act as a noise absorber and would absorb unpleasant sound produced by motor cars. For instance, as per research by James Hopkins University, planting two rows broad leaves trees or hollies shrubs beside roads will help to reduce the sound level by 7-decibel levels. A perfect example is a city of Mumbai, wherein 2019 the overall city noise level was reduced by 4 decibels in the following year because of planting 1 million trees throughout the city.

In conclusion, the chief problem for a surge in unwanted sound is due to motor vehicles on roads, but it can be addressed by growing trees as they are an antidote to noise pollution.