Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish Why do you think this is happening What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced

The amount of garbage per head is on the rise these days. While our dependency on packed items and carelessness creates such a hike, the government could take two main steps to alleviate this rampant issue. This essay will detail on both.

It is needless to say that, we highly depend on packaged food these days which contribute to a major portion of waste disposal. Food is an inevitable part of daily life and due to the want of time, we have no other choice than packed or canned food. The used empty packs become waste and amounts to huge quantities. Secondly, the careless approach in disposing the used packs also creates bulky rubbish collections in the surroundings. People throw the packs, mostly plastic, to the immediately available free area without thinking about its deleterious effects. Commonly dumping areas of any residence colony these days could be cited as realistic examples.

As a measure of control, the government needs to focus on two main areas. At first, they should ensure that there are enough numbers of waste disposal facilities available on the streets. For example, in Singapore, a visible waste disposal unit can be seen at every one kilometer distance. This would encourage people to use them properly, instead of throwing the rubbish randomly. Moreover, authorities have to ensure the provision of stringent action upon people who violate the waste disposal norms. Just like how it is being done in the case of vehicle exhaust certification.

To conclude, although human convenience and careless public attitude create more waste, implementation of more waste disposal units and strict rules and regulations appearto curb the waste accumulation issues.