The number of old people around the world is increasing dramatically.

Could this have more positive or negative effects on society?

The growing number of aged individuals throughout the globe is a cause for concern. Although this has some benefits, the downside effects such as vulnerability and complex medical care are contentious issues. In my opinion, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

It cannot be denied that old people are the majority of voters in elections. Even though they are frail in nature, they perform their civil duties with passion, and play the leading role in determining the future of the nation through election polls. To illustrate this, the Sun newspaper in Nigeria, on the 1st of March, 2019, reported that the age group 70 - 85 years old were the majority of voters, which is about 40% of the total amount of votes counted. This shows their relentless efforts to contribute to the growth of the economy.

However, there are some cons of having too many old ones in the society; one of which is vulnerability. When an individual becomes old, the body system becomes weak, and therefore it cannot protect itself from danger. When this happens, there would be need for a compulsory carer to lean on, otherwise old people might get hurt. Another issue that is worthy of our attention concerns complex medical care. The cost of care for aged individuals is high and profitless, which is why insurance companies pull out. This, inevitably leaves either the government or the families of the aged individuals to foot the bills, which is undoubtedly inconvenient. My point is, frailty turns old ones to burden on the resources.

In conclusion, despite the fact that old people are good citizens who have the best interest of the nation at heart, they pose some problems of financial liability on the society. For this reason the negative effects are more than the positive effects on the society.