The number of older people is increasing in many parts of the world. What are the effects of this on the society as a whole?  What are the advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

It is an undeniable fact that the percentage of the elderly population is significantly increasing day by day. The following paragraphs discuss the effects, pros and cons which have been arisen due to the above notion.

on the one hand, the population which in between the age of 16 to 60 is the vital part of a country because significant percentage of the workforce who propel the nation are them. But, when elderly population become majority of a county it increases the number of dependents who must b looked after. As a result, contribution to the GDP of a country is decreasing and its time to prosperity can be elongated. Moreover, most of the elderly people are vulnerable to diseases may cause to allocate hefty sum of budget for their healthcare. This is not only utilize money but also use a chance of a viable person.

on the other hand, elderly people can be considered a precious resource to the society. Because they bear experience of previous employments and life adventures. Therefore, they must be motivated to share their knowledge with youngsters. And also they have a potential to become teachers and counsellors in various fields and support the others. Further, elder people can look after their grandchildren while their parents involve in employment. This is a common nature in South Asian countries. By doing that parents can complete their tasks successfully because they feel her/his child is safe at home with their grandparents.

Taking everything into consideration I pen down saying that aged population must be considered as a resource and treated them with more humanity.