Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities.

To what extent do you agree?

A section of society asserts that children should not squander their precious time on reading a colossal amount of children's storybooks; instead they should invest their time and energy on other resourceful activities. I agree with the assertion that children should get involved in different activities for overall development, besides just reading fairy tales.

At an early age, reading stories not only teach discipline and good habits in a child but also impart life lessons in them. The stories written in the children's books are specially articulated in a way so that it is easy to comprehend and imbibe even for a preschooler, whereas if children tried to read a course-book or an article on a specific subject, it would be too complicated for them to gain any useful insights. Furthermore, the habit of reading books from a young age improves not only the listening skill but also enhance comprehension skill. According to a recent study, it has been proved that the children who read regularly end up performing well in academics and are better at logic building skills than their counterparts.

Nevertheless, from an enlightened standpoint, the process of children's growth is much more complex and require them to perform a host of mental and physical activities. Therefore, for a healthier lifestyle, children should be encouraged to follow a fitness regime by adopting sports, such as cycling, badminton or football. Pursuing a sport would not only enhance the fitness level of a child but also build some of the key attributes, like teamwork, patience, planning and coordination, in them, thereby leading to a successful life and career.

Hence, in my opinion, learning from reading storybooks is acceptable as long as it is done in moderation while focusing on other vital facets of a healthy lifestyle that is needed for all-round development of a child.