Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society asserts that the people must have innate talent to attain success in sports, while others consider that regular practice with dedication and a will to learn are the keys to a successful career in sports. I advocate the idea of excelling in sports through hard work and passion, albeit inborn skills can provide an edge over other competitors.

To begin with, people who are born with special genes that they can harness to perform well in sports have a higher probability of defeating the ones with genetical disadvantage. For instance, the people who naturally have athletic anatomy with more muscles and less body fat can beat their opponents in a race with a fair margin because their bodies are inherently more capable for working under stressful conditions while consuming less energy. Furthermore, some people are born with a natural talent for a particular sport, consequently, with only minimal guidance and support they can have a successful sporting career. The quick reflexes of Indian cricket team's wicket-keeper, M.S. Dhoni, is an illustration of the power and value of the innate talent.

Nevertheless, from an enlightened standpoint, it will not be wrong to say that practice makes a man perfect. Although the people who are born talented begin with a head-start, they cannot outperform the ones who have not only practised incessantly for days and weeks but have also enhanced their abilities. Therefore, by regular practice sessions and diligence, even an amateur can move up in the hierarchy to be an elite athlete. Moreover, if a person repeats the same activities every day, he or she can build new skills and minimize the chances of errors, thereby, improving the overall performance. For example, the eminent, six-time world boxing championship winner, Mary Kom, who continued her career as a boxer even after having children, followed a strict fitness regime and practised regularly to regain the strength to win another tournament.

To conclude, natural skills and abilities give an advantage which may play a role in success; however, in my opinion, it is very unlikely to be successful without the will to work diligently.