The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for this growth in overweight people in society. How this problem can be solved.

There is a significant rise in the count of people, those are at the edge of having major health issues because of their heavy body weight. Before providing the solution for this problem, it is imperative to discuss the root cause behind it.

There main reason behind people gaining weight is that they eat lots of junk food which leads to obesity. This is because fast food is easily available in all cities and the cost of such food is also not very high. Such food does not contain any vitamin or minerals, rather it have lots of calories which have adverse consequences on the health of consumer. For example, as per the recent report by Delhi medical college, 35% of the diabetes cases happen due to the regular consumption of interested food such as burger and pizza.

One of the many solutions to this predicament is increasing the taxes on junk food. The government should increase the taxes on the fast food products so that people can not purchase such food items very often. As a result, demand for unhealthy junk food will decline and people would eat more healthy food. For instance, a similar initiative was taken by Germany in 2001, when they increased the price of cigarettes and it resulted in 61% decline in sales of cigarettes.

To conclude, eating junk food is the major reasons behind increasing number of people with obesity related problems. I believe government should impose double tax on fast food items to reduce their sales and eradicate obesity problem. Even I gained weight due to eating unhealthy fried food, which resulted in high blood pressure. However, I was able to improve my health by doing regular exercise and eating healthy.