The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for this growth in overweight people in society. How this problem can be solved.

There is a significant rise in the count of people, those are at the edge of having major health issues because of their heavy body weight. Before providing the solution for this problem, it is imperative to discuss the root cause behind it.

There are various reasons leading to people being overweight. Firstly, people nowadays are living sedentary lifestyle. This is to say that they are not involved in any kind of physical activity which can burn their calories. Secondly, people eat lots of junk food which leads to obesity. This is because fast food is easily available in all cities and the cost of such food is also not high. Such food does not contain any vitamin or minerals, rather it have adverse ramifications on the health of consumer. For example, as per the recent report by Delhi medical college, 35% of the diabetes cases happen due to the regular consumption of interested food such as burger and pizza.

Two of the many solutions to this predicament is encouraging people to do more physical activities and increasing the taxes on junk food. Firstly, government should conduct campaigns to spread awareness about doing regular regular exercise to curb the problem of obesity related diseases. Secondly, government should increase the taxes on the fast food products so that people can not purchase such food items very often. As a result, demand for unhealthy junk food will decline. For instance, a similar initiative was taken by Germany in 2001, when they increased the price of cigarettes and it resulted in 61% decline in cigarette's sales.

To conclude, sedentary lifestyle and eating junk food are the major reasons behind increasing number of people obesity problem. I believe government should spread awareness about adapting healthy lifestyle, and increase the taxes on fast food items to eradicate obesity problem. Even I gained weight due to eating unhealthy fried food, which resulted in high blood pressure. However, I was able to improve health by doing regular exercise and eating healthy.