The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a never-ending debate about traffic congestions and all possible solutions to tackle this major problem. Some people tend to believe that the only way to decline the traffic jam is to reduce the necessitate of commuting for routines task such as going to workplace, shopping, and going to schools or universities. I totally disagree with this idea because I think there is a variety of solutions such as improvement of public transportation system, promotion of infrastructure and city plan, and imposing some restricts laws, to deal with this matter.

To begin with, it should be stuck in the mind that the main reason of this volume of traffic jams contribute to the increasing number or single-passenger cars. In fact, most of the people prefer to use their own cars to commute. According to the recent statistics, the first reason is the dissatisfaction of people with public transportation system including subway, taxies or buses. It is obvious that a modern and also a cheap transportation system with a regular time table will play a vital role in reduction of traffic volume.

On the other and, the possible solutions are not restricted to the promotion of public transportation systems. Other potential tasks include development of infrastructure. To illustrate, wider streets or less crowded areas would be an effective way to decrease the traffic. To address this, city planning need to be done with some specific approaches.

Another thing that is noteworthy is the role of government in setting some standards and punishment-oriented laws about the amount of emissions and also limitation for entry some areas. For example, the annual check-up for cars should be obligatory or private cars should be banned to enter the central parts of the city.

In conclusion, I believe that reduction the need to commuting for work, shopping and education is not the only way to decline the traffic volume and there are other effective methods to tackle this problem. A modern and cheap public transportation, a well-designed city plan and enforcement of related laws will lead to less traffic jams. Given this situation, it seems the solutions for traffic lie in different aspects and is a long-term procedure.