Some educationalists argue that non-exam art-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Overwhelming of majority of people think that are-based subjects are less important in comparison with scientific academic courses. While, educational experts believe that these sort of courses should be obligatory. I agree to this idea for couple of reason.

The most important thing that should be stuck in mind, is about the effect of are on students’ mind. A great deal of psychological research has been done to prove the impact of art on people character. The results have indicated that engaging in art can reduce the stress in human body. According to this, some psychologist, recommend to be involved in some artistic stuff to relief daily stress. Playing music, painting, creating hand-made subject such as sculpture, will impact peoples’ mood positively and result in improving their spirit. Also, since creating art needs to be innovative, students will learn to think widely and consider all aspects, which will help them to be more concentrate on their technical and especial courses.

On the other hand, one of the required skills for students, is being able to work within a team. I think, most of the art-based activities in schools should be done by a team. As an outstanding instance, I can mentioned school orchestra performance which any students play their own instrument. Another example, is theater that performed by a team as cost under vision of director. Student will learn to obey the leader or manager and, also, be a member of team. Experiences have obviously shown, that those students who were engaged in these group of activities, are more flexible at university and even at work. They can play their role as a member of team more efficiently.

As a conclusion, in my idea, art-based subjects are very effective, and they should be compulsory in schools curriculum. These kind of courses are able to influence student spirit and creativeness. Also, students will learn how to work in team-working projects