Is it good for children to start using computers from an early stage and spend long hours on them?

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In recent times, people have debated on the relevance of permitting youths to have unhindered access to computers at tender age as well as using them for long duration. In view of the above, children can acquire skills and study for assignments by using the computer, but the drawbacks should also be taken into consideration.

To begin with, kids can develop new set of skills such as coding, typing and graphic designs, which are often not taught in schools. In other words, they become better than their peers and in addition, are sought after by Ivy-league institutions. A survey by the Times magazine reported that, 60% of pupils admitted into Harvard were those with special Information and Technology skills. Furthermore, they have the opportunity to get online aids, which are helpful for solving assignments which are hitherto cumbersome. These sets of children gain better understanding of subjects and are better prepared for examinations. For instance, the top three students at Queens College relied on additional materials they get on the internet for exam preparation.

On the flip side, although spending long hours on computer may have its benefits, the demerits are worrisome and need to be considered. Firstly, adolescent can have uncontrolled access to social media platforms such Facebook, Whatsapp and Twitter, and therefore, can get distracted from their studies. Consequently, they may experience a sharp decline in academic performance. For example, school teachers in America reported that, 70% of students that performed poorly are those with multiple social media presence. Secondly, they can access dangerous and immoral sites such as pornography and betting sites, as well as those that enhance cyber-crimes. Youths, being very vulnerable might resort to rape, which is a global concern in trying to practice what they learnt from those poisonous sites.

To recapitulate, while long duration on computer has its benefits which are not limited to skills development and additional study aid, the setbacks such as distraction and access to immoral platforms need to be put under check.