In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the modern times, the issue of teleworking has become highly controversial. They are those who say that teleworking has a lot of advantages, however other believe that overall it is determined bring many disadvantages. In this essay I will examine the positive and drawbacks of this argument and provide my overall opinion.

From overall perspective, there are two key advantages of working from home. Perhaps the main advantage of teleworking is that reduce travel cost and air pollution. Working from home and internet allow business people in different countries to interact without ever meeting each other, which may lead to reduce travel cost. Less commuting to the workplace lead to reduce traffic congestion, which is one of the main cause of air pollution. A further point in favour of teleworking is that people have less stress. Stress of commuting in traffic at rush hour in big cities is extremely, other stresses can include unfriendly coworker, inconvenient work environment. As a result, working from home in their own environment at peace without any stresses or distraction lead to more productivity.

Despite these argument, there are also various disadvantages of working from home. The main disadvantage is that people easy fell loneliness and isolation. The workplace provides a location to meet people and make friends, however teleworking makes it difficult to get coworker and keep in touch with them.

In conclusion, it must be said that teleworking has clear advantages and disadvantages. Taking the above account, it would appear that there are more advantages than disadvantages between working from home or not. If we can find right balance between them, then working from home will increase quality of our life.