In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Many years ago, most people used to go to their workplace. With increased use of technology equipment, more and more people are starting to work from home. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The first benefit we cannot deny is that this trend is very convenient and comfortable. Because we don't have to go out, that means you can save your community time, effort and community costs. For example, you don't need to spend money on gasoline or bus tickets to get to work. Another positive side is that you can provide better work and life balance. You can still make a work schedule, but you also can spend time with your family and your hobbies. Moreover, you can work for multiple companies at the same time. It helps you contribute to your family's income.

On the other hand, you may face distractions and family discontinuities. Because you are at home, getting rid of kids, guests or neighborhood noise is difficult. So work efficiency may not be as high as when working in a quiet place like an office. Besides, you'll have no colleagues to cooperate with and you can't share pressure or learn useful skills from them. Moreover, you don't have the tools that you need to work, such as faxes and printers. So it makes the work process harder.

In conclusion, working at home is likely to balance your family's spending list, but productivity and efficiency may not be as good as when you're working. Personally, I favor home work rather than going to work.