In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Traditionally, people are accustomed to going to their workplace. Due to the birth of technology devices, a greater number of people tend to work remotely. In this essay, I will consider both sides of this trend and give my own opinion.

Obviously, home working has several benefits. First of all, distance work can help workers feel more comfortable. As they work at their own home, they can be more flexible in their daily schedule, then provide a better balance between work and private life. Another advantage is that employers will be able to save commuting costs, such as bus tickets or petrol for their automobiles. That also has another wider impact, when lessening congestion in crowded cities. Moreover, telework also provides employers opportunities to work for many companies or organizations concurrently, which can help them earn more extra income.

Nevertheless, telecommuting is not completely beneficial; there still exist some considerable drawbacks. One of the most serious bad sides is the lack of discipline and motivation. No supervisor means that workers can do whatever they want whenever they like. The productivity and efficiency in work, as a result, may be affected dramatically. Another downside of teleworking is the shortage of adequate equipment. Some machines like printers or photocopiers will rarely appear in ordinary houses, so employers may have to pay extra costs for this preparation. Furthermore, remote working can easily lead to the loneliness and boredom of workers.

In conclusion, distance working has not only appealing points but also some negative impacts. Personally, I think working from home is still acceptable, only in case of well-preparation.