In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard
it as a hobby.
To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?
Years ago people went to shopping when they were out of food or they needed something. As life is
hanged now there is a shopping trend, where people go to department store and buy something just
for fun. This leads to over –consumption which is a big problem in 21.century.
In the past there wasn’t need to buy anything without any reason. Nowadays there are commercials,
catalogues, advertisements which are so common that people go to shop and buy what was in
commercial. It is normal to spend your time in department store and buy new pair of shoes or new
telephone. After shopping people feel temporary happiness but when they look at their bank
account, all good emotions are gone and replaced by worry and regrets. For example, Colombia
University survey was showing that students who spend free time in shopping centres are 35%
unhappy than their college students, who spend their free time in nature.
In present time people have more items in their home than it was couple of centuries ago. Humans
are used to buy always something new when something is broken or they gain/lose weight or style is
changed. That means that most of our population have closets full of items and some of them have
even price tag on it. Over-consumption is a big problem in our nation, because this can lead to
hoarding. For example, in USA there are 15% more hoarders than in Europe, as USA is
commonwealth country and people are more tending to buy unnecessary things as they see them in
advertisements.
In conclusion, shopping is a common task but it can lead to over consumption and make people
unhappy.