In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Shopping is the activity in which customers buy goods and household things from a variety of shops. In older days people used to purchase things on a daily basis; however, it is believed by many people that it becomes a hobby these days. I agree with the statement that this phenomenon has a positive impact on the people but its negative impact cannot be overlooked.

Beyond any qualm, there are several compelling reasons why shopping has become a hobby because first and foremost, it is not only to spend money on food and household things but to be aware about the products, quality, different brands and price in details. People love shopping as it refreshes their mind and makes them forget the worries for that time. For example, usually students go on shopping after finishing their exams to reduce their stress for the results. Therefore, younger generations prefer and get attracted for shopping and make it their hobby.

Further reinforcing, there are myriad logical thoughts to support the same view. It is true that people nowadays have a busy schedule. They could not able to spend time with their loved ones. So, people plan their shopping with friends and family to spend quality time with them. Nowadays, shopping malls are the places where everyone can enjoy their day. For example, malls has food stations, theaters and couple can also leave their kids at play station to engage them for some time and they can go for shopping. Thus, It is a convenient and safest place for people to shop.

On the contrary, People tend to spend money on the products which attracts them and are not at all useful for them because there are a number of varieties in products and comfort levels in shopping malls. Sometimes youngsters spend a lot of time and money in shopping with friends whereas they can utilize this time in sports or studies which would be beneficial for them for future. Moreover, spending huge amount for things will make them come under debts. For instance, Companies provide their products to customers on zero balance money payment and this can lead youngsters towards crimes because they are not having sufficient money to pay. Therefore, shopping is sometimes not good for the people who are getting addicted to it and want the things at any cost.

All in all, shopping could be a great habit or hobby of an individual as it refreshes their mind and makes them forget about their problems and anxieties but, people should not be addicted with their hobby as it converts or creates many consequences for themselves.