People are sleeping less than in the past. Why do people do it? What are the effects of this?

It is argued that the amount of sleep among people is reduced as compared to previous time. The plausible reason of this trend is hectic schedule and the ramification is in terms of having deprived health.

The primary reason that people have less sleep in recent time is that busy lifestyle. This is because, in this contemporary era, people have to spend longer time at their work-place in order to cope up with the global competition. However, in the past, less plight had been faced by people as they only had to compete at domestic level only. In addition to that, people are doing multi-task because they are doing more than one job to earn more disposable income, whereas people used to indulge in a single profession through out their whole life in the previous time. Therefore, these could be the reasons that cause sleep deprivation in today's generation.

There are several possible consequences of this vogue. Firstly, due to inadequate sleep, detrimental implications can be seen on people's health. As a result, number of people are suffering from multiple illnesses such as dizziness and mental breakdown. Moreover, at a social level, government has to spend hefty amount of money to cure its citizens from various diseases which ultimately put strain on the national budget. Work efficiency also negatively affected because deficiency of

sleep makes people less productive. Consequently, it adversely effects the economy of the nation. Thus, having less amount of sleep cause above mentioned effects on an individual as well as on society.

By agglomerating above view points, it can be concluded that workaholic nature and world level competition are two reasons that people are sleeping less, and deprived health as well as pernicious effects on the development of the country are cardinal ramifications of this trend. Furthermore, government should spread awareness regarding the significance of sleep on fitness.