In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

To what extent do you agree?

It is always a debatable question that either children should be enrolled in single-gender or co-educational school as in various nations’ parents have freedom to select type of educational institute. Owing to this, few men and women reckon that demerits can be faced by children when they grow older if they were study from single-sex school. I partially agree with the statement which I will elucidate in following paragraphs.

On the one hand, some people prefer to send their children in single-sex school because they think that children will not be distracted by opposite gender. In addition to that, they will concentrate on their study only. That is to say that, when children are accompanied by different sex, they might feel uncomfortable. As a result, pupil cannot focus on their studies which may be resulted into poor performance in examination. To exemplify, a survey from Times of India showed that adolescents who have studied in mono-gender school have good educational credentials. However, I deem that co-education has its own benefits.

On the other hand, if children are educated with opposite gender then it is beneficial for them as from the very beginning of their life, they have the knowledge that how to deal with different sex. Consequently, children will not hesitate to work with other gender because at work-place. Moreover, it is not necessary that they will only have to work with same sex group when they become older. To exemplify, I have studied from co-educational school, whereas my friend has studied from single-sex school. He finds it arduous when there is a matter of working with females, while I do not have any trouble to do the same thing. Therefore, studying in co-educational school is advantageous for scholars.

To recapitulate, though single-sex school is a better option to learn without any disturbance, I bolster the notion of studying in opposite-gender school because it is favorable to acquire knowledge that how to treat different sex which will be useful in later stage of life.