People find it very difficult to speak in public or to give a presentation before an audience. Do you think public speaking skill is really important? Give reasons.

Speak in public has always been a highly challenging situation for many individuals. Although it can be mentioned as a valuable ability, it is disagreed that this skill should be considered as a significant one.

First of all, public speaking is merely presented in a few situations. To put it another way, most of people would never experience an ambiance to have a speech for a group of people. Since it is more likely to be needed to speak for individuals in only some positions such as university professors or political figures. Other ordinary people in various types of careers like engineers will rarely encounter the ambiance to do public speech. Thus, this manifest that this skill is not needed to consider as a substantial one.

Furthermore, technology has made the public speaking far easier than previous time. That is, people which require making a speech can conduct it through video conferencing. People these days often have a tendency to attending seminars or such these meetings from their own places, the popularity of this method has being increased. As the main reason making public speaking a hard task could be the stress of facing with huge number of audiences, video conference tend to be an alternative to resolve this difficulty of speakers. Such practice is being employed recently in varying settings such as universities. Hence the significance of this ability is bound to be debunked.

To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that the ability of public lecturing is a worthy one, having said that, it could not be considered as an imperative competency. Because, it is solely needed in some specific professions and one’s problem of speaking in public has been to some extent solved by video conferencing.