People generally know that the environment is important However most individuals still don t take responsibility to protect the environment Why is this what should be done to encourage people to protect the environment Give reasons for your answer or incl

Even though most people agree that everyone must protect the environment, many do not act upon this. I believe this is due to the required extra steps and this problem could be alleviated with the help of a rewarding system.

The most obvious challenge people face in protecting nature is having to change the regular procedures in their day-to-day tasks. It takes many extra steps to complete a task in a nature-friendly manner, whereas it takes fewer steps to do the same task in the usual way. Humans, taking every possible shortcut, find it harder to deviate from their regular life patterns without any instant benefit. Recycling, for instance, needs the public to sort their garbage into groups, which is just a single extra step and even this has resulted in people choosing not to recycle.

Firstly, rewarding people who opt for helping nature, as I believe, is one of the most prominent solutions to overcome this situation. If green companies or governments could return money or discounts for individuals who collect and sort garbage, it would motivate more to follow this path. Secondly, a positive attitude towards recycling would be effective in persuading population, in particular the younger generation, to act nature friendly due to the trend. They will actively involve youths all over the world in their agenda and promote this healthy practice. For example, Norway government started a project in 2010 with college students and it went viral on social media as a huge success.

In conclusion, even though most people do not feel that they should take action on it, everyone is aware of the importance of environment protection. However, persuading them with rewarding systems and developing social movements can be identified as the most viable solutions for this.