Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Technology has revolutionized the way of communicating with each other to such an extent that people can instantly find out what their families or friends are doing at a moment even if they are scattered around the world. This essay will discuss the impact of technology upon people's relationships and explain how it has become a drawback in lives.

People have become used to making relationships and keeping in touch with them through social media. In contrast to the past, we have more friends nowadays, with whom we communicate regularly, even though all of them are through digital applications. A research done by Toronto IT university discovered that average person with a Facebook account has 100 close friends. While there are lots of connections in the digital world, it has become impossible for a group of friends to gather to a physical location such as a ground and play a game, mainly due to the busy lifestyles.

Even though individuals today have more connections, I would argue technology has deteriorate the quality of relationships they have. Firstly, public are not aware of the person living next door, and this has led them to become helpless in an emergency. Because of the fact that most try to impress others with their online presence, their friends wouldn't know if someone is going through a hard time and wouldn't be able to assist. Secondly, violation of privacy has become a greater concern. It is easier for scammers to impersonate as someone closer to an individual and deceive them. This may result not only in theft but also in blackmailing.

In conclusion, it is true that technology has changed how people connect with each other. Nevertheless, I think it is not a healthy development since it has become more of a problem due to not being able to get help in physical world as well as attackers.