People try new dangerous sports such as sky-diving or rock climbing. Should such sports be banned?

There is a controversial issue about prohibiting extreme sports. Some sportsmen state that society should not forbid this kind of activity, while some politicians claim that it should be under a ban. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of freedom in sports.

Let us start with reasons why some sportsmen say that it should be free from any restrictions. The first reason is that people would engage in life-threatening sports anyway. Many people take such dangerous activities, because they both want to challenge themselves and feel a sense of adrenaline. Therefore, any limits are useless, since people would put their life at risk without notifying the public. Another motive is that any restriction in sports would be considered as an attempt to limit human rights. If society allows authorities to introduce a law banning risky sports, they can start prohibiting other aspects of life, so democratic nations should counteract any restrictions.

However, some politicians believe that such dangerous sports should be forbidden. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, many people annually hurt themselves in risky sports. For example, many risk-takers break either legs or arms, when they try climb rocks. As a result, they often ruin their life, and it usually takes both a long time and huge finances to recover from injuries. Secondly, this kind of sports gives no guarantee that sportsmen would remain alive. Every year, thousands of people die, even if instructors teach them how to overcome dangerous stages, because clients are not protected from any unexpected situations.

In conclusion, even though some politicians argue that extreme sports should be prohibited, I think that people should have an opportunity to decide whether they want to take big risks for the above mentioned reasons.