People who read for pleasure in their free time have a better imagination than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Individuals, who are avid readers, imagine out of the box in comparison with those who enjoy viewing TV. I entirely agree with this thought, as reading not only broadens our horizons by enhancing our visualisation but also enhance one’s knowledge about the language.

To commence with, although it is undeniable that words from any textual material provide wings to our creativity, reading ability develops analytical and cognitive skills. Even though most of the textual content lack in images or illustrations, this in real terms aids the reader to cultivate the habit of his conceptualisation with the power of the presentation of words. For instance, while reading a mythical book, readers tend to create their ideas and get flown away into the world in which the author wants to take them in. Whereas TV viewers watch the viewpoint of a director or the scriptwriter and their thoughts becomes a slave of another person’s creativity. Hence, it is apparent that reading plays an indispensable role in constructing a person’s overall personality.

Furthermore, there is no denying fact that building a habit of reading in leisure time not only augments the linguistic ability of a person but also boosts the power of vocabulary. To cite an example, according to an article published on ‘Reading skills & benefits’ in the ‘The Washington Post’ in July 2019 by the editor-in-chief Dr. Benjamin Bradlees stated that when a person studies any good content daily, this undoubtedly extends the knowledge of new words, sentence formations and grammar. In contrast, learning new words while watching TV is arduous because of the variety of actions are involved in distracting our attention, such as listening to audio and frequent transitions in the scenes. Needless to say, all these benefits stand the readers in good stead as far as their augmenting prosperity and excellence are concerned.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that reading ignites the imagination of a person while contributing new sight to eyes and new wisdom to mind than those who watch television.