Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, there is a colossal upsurge in the people believing that adolescents should be indulged in voluntary work for society. Not only this can be beneficial to them, but also their voluntary service can also provide great welfare to the community. As per my view, I agree to the statement to some extent only, as I have some disagreements as well which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, because youths have ample of free time after school, they should be inclined towards the help to the community due to manifold reasons. Predominantly, this kind of voluntary work inculcates great habits in them which helps them to become a noble citizen in future. To explicate, as the children are every country’s future, the appropriate direction towards doing the unpaid community work contributes in developing good social conduct, interpersonal skills and selflessness as well as a sense of responsibility. Thus, not only helping the society with the charitable acts aids in the overall self-development of the juveniles, but also proves advantageous to the public. To exemplify, according to an article published in the ‘The Washington Post’, May 2019, USA, by the editor-in-chief Dr. Benjamin Bradlees on the topic of ‘Teenagers and Community Service’ clearly stated about the voluntary service done by a group of students of a school for the renovation of a park, which in turn was highly appreciated by the residents of that vicinity as well as students were also awarded by the Mayor. This motivated those students proactively to participate in making their vicinity cleaner and greener to a great extent.

However, for multifarious causes, it would be wrong to force youths to do unpaid communal activities in their leisure time. Primarily, some teenagers may not be physically strong enough and lack the necessary labour skills. To substantiate, as the adolescent period is a tender age of life, it would be really hard to do any laborious work for the juveniles and might end up with meeting accidents at the workplaces. Therefore, instead of risking the lives of the young children, it would be better to not to involve them in these kinds of voluntary works. To illustrate, according to a study by the department of ‘Child Safety and Development’, conducted research in June 2019, the USA, on a group of 440 school students of the age group of 13-16, revealed a report that 57% of accidents were done during serving the communal works.

Furthermore, teenagers are at the learning stage and mostly occupied in their academic studies as well as tight deadlines for completing the assignments. Hence, if they take time out to do unrelated jobs, there will not be time left for their study and some other activities for the comprehensive development, such as doing extra-curriculum activities, playing sport and so forth. Therefore, occupying their little free time is obviously unfair.

To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although community service is a kind act and instil many good qualities amidst the teenagers, they can still be encouraged to firstly focus on their education and considering the above mentioned pertinent risks they should avoid that to some extent. If a balanced approach is taken by the government as well as the individuals to make our community peaceful and greener, the future of the masses will thrive to its pinnacle.