The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

In the last decade, the number of obese children in western countries has been increased by 20%. This essay will discuss first, that the increase in the consumption of the junk food and reduction in physical activities are the main causes behind the obesity in children and secondly, due to these reasons, youngsters are facing health and mental issues; followed by a conclusion.

Most of the developed countries have a fast-paced lifestyle therefore, consumption of fast food is very popular. Adolescents can be found consuming junk food often, which makes them fat. Moreover, with the introduction of the latest video games, children prefer to play indoor rather than indulging in a physical sport. This is also contributing to their increased weight. For instance, a study done by Cambridge University on the obese children found out, 90% of them prefer to play video games over physical sport and the amount of junk food they consume is way too high as compared to a healthy child of their age.

Consequently, teenagers are being diagnosed with serious health issues like Diabetes, Cardiac issues etc. Junk food is highly processed food with a massive amount of sugar and oil in it, which brings obesity among children and hence health issues. Furthermore, obese children are usually low on confidence due to their appearance and this could lead to depression and other mental issues. For example, on analysing data of teenage patients, it has been found that 80% of children who were diagnosed with diabetes and 45% of children who were diagnosed with depression were overweight.

To recapitulate, this essay has illustrated that the increase in obesity among children is mainly due to eating fast food on a regular basis and inactive lifestyle. Furthermore, it brings a variety of health disorder in the early stage of life.