A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s era, there is one more thing added to the 3 basic necessities that consist of food, shelter, clothes and that is luxury. Everyone is running after all the material possessions to augment their value and position in society. As per my perspective, I am inclined to believe that a person’s existence is not only considered more on their social class but also on how much worldly-minded they are.

To begin with, in earlier times, people were more content by just gathering in one’s place during any festivals, celebrations, family events etc., while, on the contrary, people these days find happiness and serene in expensive presents and monetary things. Furthermore, they find just rendezvous medieval. Apart from this, there has been a trend to possess steep things, to exemplify: Cars, big house, AC, bikes, fancy and branded clothes, expensive restaurants, cafes and many more, just to fit in the society. What’s more, people who are behind these kinds of fad and are more towards their values, compassion and, believe that a true person is not recognized by the things they possess but with the character itself and, the kindness and loyalty they show are not easily accepted by the society. Apparently, just to seek heed and higher their status, people brag about the things albeit, by making their life formidable. Ostensibly, the one who holds true values are neglected although, they are right. Last but not the least, this kind things proliferates differences between people and increments hate and competition between them and hinders serenity in society. For instance, misusing their status for having VIP passes etc.

On the other hand, nowadays people believe that the time has changed and so has the mentality. They are more practical and respect the honesty, loyalty and kindness. As we can see that many people have had the journey from rags to riches because of their moral and ethics.

To recapitulate, having a social class or material possessions definitely comes after many tough tasks yet, it should not overlook that kindness, trust and loyalty are the roots of one’s character which takes one long way in life.