Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, plastic consumables are becoming a massive threat for the earth as these cannot be disposed off easily. The essay will address its consequences followed by some effective measures to combat the problem in the forthcoming paragraphs.

The major damage is caused to underground waters as some harmful particles mix with soil and pollute the water, which is ultimately consumed by mankind and other species. Consumption of this water is creating various health issues because not everybody has access to clean drinking water. Moreover, plastic is damaging the water bodies of the planet, due to which many species of marine flora and fauna are becoming instinct. For instance, as per the survey conducted by National Sample Survey Office, New Delhi, it is revealed that loggerhead sea turtles are endangered due to the ingestion of plastic waste.

The impact of this plastic pollution is unavoidable, however it can be controlled with the efforts of the government and public. If plastic is recycled and converted into a useful product, its hazardous effects can be minimized. Seminars and awareness camps should be organized by concerned authorities, so that people learn to manage their plastic wastes. Though the government has initiated many projects of recycling plastic but without the help of citizens the target cannot be accomplished. For example, authorities of Indonesia have started building roads from plastic dumps which are more durable than the normal ones and its citizens are following the rules and regulations to achieve the benchmark of lesser polluted surroundings.

To encapsulate, in order to reduce the harmful effects of plastic, people and the government must know their responsibilities. Implementation of policies is required to overcome this situation along with the support of denizens, otherwise this issue will get worse day by day.