Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

In today's consumerist world, plastic packaging produced to fulfil market demands bombards the environment and it has become the primary concern for environmental activists and scientists. While this problem has reached a global scale, a number of effective measures could be taken by governments and individuals to tackle this issue to some extent.

Perhaps the most threatening issue caused by plastic products thrown in the environment is harming the ecosystem. Due to being undegradable, plastic materials remain untouched in nature and eventually replace animals' habitats. Evidence can be seen on media or in nature where birds nest in plastic containers. Another serious issue could be the threat to animals' survival. These ever-lasting products could move in the ecosystem and end up in animals' natural homes where they might become trapped or poisoned by them. This ahs led to the sudden death or injuries oi species. This leads us to our final concern, which is the ever-increasing land pollution that could be easily seen in beaches, gardens, national parks, and forests. These places are usually frequented by tourists who might simply neglect to preserve nature by avoiding littering, especially plastic containers. This has led to an unpleasant and unattractive landscapes which were previously an attraction for tourists and a means for economical growth.

Turning to possible solutions, it is pivotal for governments, particularly in capitalist nations, to listen attentively to the concerns voiced by scientists and play their role in this problematic scenario. These roles can range from an increase in legislation on human activities in nature to allocating more budget to resolve the aftermath or consequences of humans' presence in nature. A second remedy that could be implemented by individuals is to commence a series of collective efforts that could have a ripple effect among the rest of society. These actions might include setting up campaigns to raise people's awareness of the issue at hand and ways to contribute in ameliorating. Participating in volunteer works such as litter collecting or joining campaigns against plastic bags, individuals could exponentially reverse the trend.

To summarize, It is a fact that by increased production and consumerism, plastic materials have become a major threat to our environment; however, certain coordinated actions taken by civilians and authorities could really be the ultimate game-changer.