At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly.

What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive

development?

Television and print media are creating a real effect on the lives of the public. This is resulting in biased thinking among society, and it is undoubtedly an unfavorable development, due to the overall negativity which it is creating among people.

To embark upon, people follow the current affairs regularly, and many of their decisions are influenced by these news. In other words, they believe everything which they read in newspapers and watch on television. Even they believe the fake news which is only based on rumors to misguide public at large. To illustrate, there was news on some television channels that Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said against the people who are coming to Delhi from Bihar for medical treatments. Later on, it was found that media has created a fabricated version by editing the original video and he actually said something else. Nevertheless, it even created the false image of Mr. Kejriwal in my mind also at first but later on, I understood.

The above-mentioned scenario is adverse because news agencies generally focus on destructive elements that are poising the minds of people and affecting their lives severely. Many fake news about the inter-community violence flashes daily all over the channels, which are spreading communal hatred among the communities. Not only that, how these houses spread news is also provocative. There was news, for instance, in many newspapers that a Hindu man was killed by Muslims in Bihar. The said killing was due to a personal dispute, not any religious matter. However, media spread that as communal violence which resulted in disturbance and conflicts among both religions all over the country. Therefore, it can be said this strong influence of media could divide and damage society.

In conclusion, the media affect the thinking of the public greatly, and it is detrimental to society as it is raising communism and causing disturbance among people.