At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly.

What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive

development?

Media has a significant impact on the lives of people these days. The main impact on society is that people are buying unnecessary things by being influenced by the media and it is a negative development because people are facing financial problems due to excess spending.

The main impact of the media on people’s lives is that the media easily influence people, and they end up buying expensive products that are not necessary. In other words, people watch advertisements for popular brands on TV and in print media and famous celebrities promote them. Therefore, they want to buy those products because they think that it will raise their standard in society. For example, according to a recent survey conducted by the Guardian revealed that 40% of the young people replaced their smartphones with newer models after seeing celebrity endorsement in various magazines and newspapers.

It is e negative development because people are getting into debt and due to overspending they are facing financial crises. That is to say that, most people take loans from banks or use credit cards to buy the things that they cannot afford and do not need. As a result, they get into debt and sometimes they are not able to pay that money back that eventually results in the financial crisis. For instance, a report published by the Delhi times in the year 2017 suggested that 45% of the middle-class people in India owe money to the banks because they purchased expensive cars on loans and now facing financial issues.

In conclusion, media has affected the society to an extent that people buy products that they are not required and this is a negative development because they are facing financial issues due to overspending.