At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that, currently, population of many nations consists of large proportion of younger people than old ones. In my opinion, having more ratio of young generation than old people certainly have more benefits than the drawbacks associated with it.

The main advantage is that young people can contribute more towards the economy of the country. This is to say that young people can work more than old people. Adults are physically fit and can be more productive. As a result, young people can boost revenue for the companies they work for. As a result, overall economy growth trajectory of the country will also grow. For instance, China and India have the highest growth driven profit percentage (GDP) in the world because their 70% of the population is young adults.

The major drawback is increased crime rate because of having large ratio of young than old people. This is because young people often create nuisance in the society due to lack of guidance from their elders. In addition, many adults get influenced by wrongdoers and they even participate in antisocial activities, which deteriorate the peace of the society. For instance, as per the recent report by Times newspaper published in January 2018, it was found that the arrests made in New York City last year consists of 67% of adult criminals between 17 to 29 years of age.

To conclude, despite the drawback of antisocial problems that young people create, which can be controlled by implemention of strict law and order. I believe having larger young population is more pragmatic in terms of countries growth.