Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In the 20th century, it was very common trend for worker joining a corporation as college graduate, spent 40 years in same corporation and retire with golden watch. In recent times, this is quite rare and people generally do multiple jobs in various companies in their dynamic career.

In old days, jobs were more permanent in nature, with most of the people doing same thing every day, with very steady career growth and financial benefits. Corporations tend to invest years in fresh college graduates to train them and mold according to the culture of the organizations. Nowadays, jobs are more dynamoc in nature. Hirings are mostly project based and contratual in nature. Since, these hiring does not guarantee long term visibility to hirees, it is compensated by higher salary. In a world, where consumerism is on constant rise, people choose higher wages and wide experience than that of a a stable salary and monotonous job.

Fast paced advancement of technology is another factor which influence ways of working of organisations which makes several jobs outdated and create new job opportunities. A research has shown that there are thousands of job profiles which used to exist a two decades ago disappeared in last two years. Similary, there are thousands of roles created in last decades whoch never existed in history. For example- Rapid implementation of automation in various sector depleted several manual jobs and other hand it created new jobs like automation engineers and manitenance staffs. Due to this dynamic disruption by technology, people constantly upskill and reskill themselves and adopt to new ways of working.

Career span of human normaly is four decade longs. Generally, when a graduate starts a career, he may not be able to completely undersatnd what is his competency and really like to do. This can happen for various reasons, for example, for financial reason he or she may join a job which is more rewarding financially even though it is not what gives her outmost satisfaction. Down the line when people get more experience, they understand more aboit their inner self and find out which career path will give them holositic satisfaction and tend to follow that path.

Finally, I believe that trend of single career is outdated and as a human we need to be more agile to remain relevant to the fast changing world and at the same time keep ourselves satisfied and happy.