In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Newspaper and TV is a prominent way to follow news. However, research shows that their viewership does not include young popluation. In this essay, I will outline possible reasons for alienation of adolescents and propose possible solutions.

Firstly, presentation and language used in electronic and print media do not attract young people. Newspaper uses difficult and technical words, which generally used in specific profession but extremely difficult to be understood by school and college students. For example, to provide market analysis, reporter uses keywords like bottom line & top line, which is difficult to be understand unless one has knowledge of finance. TV and Newspaper should refine their content and make it more attractive for youth. For instance, TV can make use of cartoons to describe certain news and newspaper can provide facts in tabular, list forms rather than writing lengthy, boring , complex sentences.

In addition, in current education curriculum, there is no place for current affairs. Teacher and parents do not emphasize to students on importance of being aware of current affairs. There is no specific subject where news is being discussed and analysed, Therefore, students dosen't understand importance of news in their life. As a solution, school should have dedicated subject on general knowledge and students should get garding same as any other mainstream subjects. School should organize frequent quizzes on news and parents should encourage their children to participate in those quizzes.

To conclude, This is extremely important for youngster to understand what's going on this world. Media and schools should mold their modus operandi to engage our future generation to make a world a better living place.