Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

News is integral part of our life and media is known as fourth pillar of democracy. Having said that, media plays very strong role in shaping society. At one hand it's media responsbility to keep viewer or listner aware of current afairs and on the other hand Media should not forget their responsbility of shaping the future of society by spreadng positivity around.

Nowadays, every thing is commercialised including pring and electronic media. Since, media is independent and privatised, one of its foremost objective, similar to any other organization, is to make profit. To maintain their profitability, they tend to print news which attracts their viewer or help to maintain their viewerships. Pyscologists has proved that as a citizen we are more attracted towards negativity around us.

Secondly, due to fierece competetion, Media house compete with each other to break the news first. This generally lead them to compete for similar news and no news channel or reporter, in order to remain in the race and follow trend, step back and try to do somthing new.

On one hand negative news help people to understand what's going on around and on the other hand it also alert them, For example: If a Media publish news that crime against people travelling after midnight has increased, citizens will be cautious and will not tend to make such plan.

Negative news is important for awareness. However, it dosen't shape the society. News editor must show and print positive news. Pyschologist, who found out that people get attreported that ultimately negativity upset their mood and on the other hand positive news inspite of being not so attractive brings positivity in their mind. Positive news does inspire a society that inturns bring more postivity. For example: When a news channel suceess story of a poor boy, others also get inspired and try to achieve impossible goals.

Finally, I would like to end my argument by saying that media has been playing a very important role in society and it's time for them to raise their game and become a strong pillar in nation building.