Prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree?

We live in an era of technology, be it in a medical field or engineering. Government uses outstanding technological advancements to perform diagnosis and cure the illness. However, in my opinion, I strongly believe that a part of the government funding should be dedicatedly used for prevention of various diseases. Following paragraphs will elaborate my opinion in broader way.

Admittedly, it is important to reserve a sufficient amount of funding for medical research and treatments. Because of this financial support from the government scientists have now invented many useful medicines that can be used to cure various life threatening illnesses which were thought to be incurable prior to a couple of decades. According to a survey conducted by World Health Organization (WHO), newly developed medicines for cancer treatment provides 76% of chance for patients to recover in full health. Therefore, it is indeed crucial to invest in medical researches.

However, because of less awareness about health and other bad habits people suffer from many health issues in the first place. If people were more concerned about their own well-being, this issue could have been avoided to a noticeable extent. The government should invest more in gyms, yoga centers and also organise fitness camps to spread awareness. Furthermore, dietary supplements which are rich in vitamins and other nutritious minerals should be made available to public at cheaper costs. Hence, people of all class can afford it.

In conclusion, it is indeed vital to invest in treatments and medicines, however, it would be more beneficial if government could spend a sufficient amount of money in preventing the diseases by making people conscious about their health.