Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss.

There is a controversial issue about the optimal penalty for crime. Some police officers state that imprisonment can take this role. However, some solicitors disagree with them and think that prison is too strict. In this essay, I consider both point of view and agree with the idea of seeing jail as the best form of sentence.

Let us start with reasons why some police officers advocate that prison is the most effective punishment. The first factor is that its strictness commonly deters potential criminals. Plenty of law violators dread breaking social order, since they realize that imprisonment means containment in small room with other convicts for many years. Another motive is that it often helps the convict rehabilitate. A great deal of former criminals never perpetrate a crime, since they understand the value of freedom, as soon as they have served their jail sentence. Therefore, after analyzing these reasons, it is clear that prison is the best method to punish felons.

Nevertheless, some solicitors propagate that jail is not the best solution to penalize delinquents. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it usually contributes to the usage of illegal drugs. Most newcomers learn to take different forms of drugs, such as cocaine and heroin, since former prisoners are interested in selling these drugs by making them heavily narcotic addicted. Secondly, it also mostly facilitates the spread of deadly diseases. Many prisoners develop serious illnesses, such as HIV and hepatitis, while they serve their sentence in prison, since they live together in a cramped cells in large number. As a result, after considering these arguments, it is obvious that sending people behind bars is not the most effective form of penalty.

In conclusion, even though some solicitors believe that imprisonment is not the optimal solution, I think that jail helps people change their attitude to violating the law for the above mentioned reasons.