Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss.

With the rapid development of today's world, living standard all around the globe have raised considerably and people's lives are more convenient than ever before. However, unfortunately, the rates of crimes and society's vices are at their peak. To tackle this problem, a lot of people assume that prison would be the best punishment for criminals. In my point of view, prison is certainly not the most suitable punishment for criminals and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples.

First of all, life in prison these days seem to be far away from being a deterrent against crime. For example, many prisoners have access to luxuries such as televisions, computers and sport facilities or even personal chefs to cook their meals. Being sentenced to prison today is probably not different from that to a holiday camp. As a matter of fact, to become a mean of punishment, I believe life in prisons need to be tougher.

Another reason why I believe that prison is not the most suitable punishment for criminals is that the culture in prison is undeniably compatible with that in the part of society which authorities tried to pull inmates away from. Take shoplifter or pickpocketer as an example. These types of criminal are often throw in the same cells and rubbing shoulders with murderers or rapists. This is not only useless for their rehabilitation process, but also make it more possible for them to recommit crimes when they are released because there is a high chance that petty criminals learned tricks from their dangerous cell mates.

In contrast, many people argue that in prisons, prisoners are offered courses in psychology and business or chances to learn new skills such as meditation and yoga, which can be helpful once they are back in society.

In conclusion, prison, which has its own benefits and drawbacks, is still currently the most well-known punishment for criminals. Personally, I doubt that it is the best due to its fulfilling living condition and lack of categorization. I believe more suitable punishment and treatment can be put out to support criminals' rehabilitation process and cope with rising crime rates.