Pros and Cons of using public transport

The way of transport has been a long debate for decades. Some people like to use their own vehicles to travel, while others prefer using public transport. Both have their own pros and cons. In this essay, I will discuss my opinion on usage, advantages, and disadvantages of public transport.

There are a number of benefits of using public transport. The primary one is that it is exponentially cheaper than taxis and private cars. As the journey and fuel is shared among the travelers, each traveler has to contribute only a small amount in the fare. They travel together, keep talking to one another, and pass their time in good way, making the travel easier and comfortable. Thanks to the big number of available buses and routes, even if someone misses their bus, other routes and buses are also available at any time during the day. This makes the travel very easy and convenient.

Another pivotal benefit of using public transport is that it is very safe. Especially is countries like Pakistan, safety is a concern particularly for women. Public buses in Pakistan are designed in a way that ladies sit at front, and men stay back. This makes it very comfortable for women. Most working women prefer public transport over personal vehicles just because of safety. Environment safety is also maintained by producing less carbon footprint and less pollution.

Just like everything, public transport also has some pitfalls, which may overcome the potential benefits. As the journey is shared, there are lots of stops for a traveler intending to go far. They sometimes have to spare about two hours while planning their journey. This make it very time-consuming. For this reason, many people prefer using personal cars, taxis and Uber. This time-factor does not only affect the high-class people, but also the middle class and poor people when they have a tight deadline.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite of some drawbacks, the benefits of public transport are indeed to great to ignore.