Providing a national system in a country where the unemployed receive a regular payment only encourages people not to seek work and puts an unreasonable strain on a country’s financial resources. Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

To help or not, that is not the question as it is the unequivocal responsibility of every states’ national system to be a strong support when its people are faced with unemployment. However, the dole can be misconstrued, misused and, in fact, perpetuate the problem rather than fix it. It’s human nature to take the path of least resistance which is something every government needs to be mindful of. This piece discusses the pros and cons and suggests an alternative workable plan to address the dichotomy of government support in managing the unemployed.

As the adage somewhat goes, “give a starving man money and you have helped him for the moment, but give him a fishing net and you have helped him for life!” -Unemployment can be a traumatic time especially for a bred-winner. It can result in hunger, poverty with mental and emotional problems in extremely situations. Marriages sometimes end in divorce and the family unit can be in crisis. Money is a sort of a hygiene factor at the most basic level as it’s an enabler. Governments giving out dole prevents family life from coming to a grinding halt.

However, this is a double-edged sword as it could result in a complacency and laziness- a lack of interest in finding a new source of income for the unemployed. Governments, therefore, should develop a plan considering factors such as duration of unemployment, earning potential (based on qualification and work experience) and number of dependents on the bred-winner to develop a comprehensive plan for giving out dole to the unemployed. The amount and duration of payment given by the state should take the above factors. This way, the Government support comes when the person needs it but the receiver of the payment is obliged to look for employment. At the outset, the scheme could offer some incentives i.e. sooner the employment received, higher the monthly payout. Likewise, a diminishing rate of payment with every incremental unemployed month.

A government payout scheme must be multivariate rather than simplistic. A system that not only supports but encourages a change of behavior. It will result in not only giving much needed relief to the unemployed but will also hugely reduce financial strain on national resources.