PROVIDING A NATIONAL SYSTEM IN A COUNTRY WHERE THE UNEMPLOYED RECEIVE A REGULAR PAYMENT ONLY ENCOURAGES PEOPLE NOT TO SEEK WORK AND PUTS AN UNREASONABLE STRAIN ON A COUNTRY'S FINANCIAL RESOURCES. DISCUSS THIS STATEMENTAND GIVE YOUR OPINION?

Millions have lost their jobs around the world and the governments are faced with the economic downturn. With the increase in the number of people claiming unemployment benefits the burden on most country’s budgets has risen. In my opinion, despite the financial pressure on the governments, employed citizens receiving regular sum may be beneficial. The following paragraphs will discuss benefits of supporting unemployed with the payments with relevant examples.

Firstly, people are often unemployed due to lack of education and live below the poverty line. It becomes critical for governments to support the impoverished and aid them for basic survival else people may consider crime. For example, in India, when the Delhi state government reduced payments to poor, there was a record increase in crime. Hence, allocated budgets to assist the needy with payments to support their livelihood is extremely important.

Secondly, losing a job can be extremely stressful for the entire family, often leads to emotional disbalance. Many are not equipped to handle sudden financial stress; some even attempt suicide. As tax paying citizens a support from the government may be comforting. For instance, during the COVID 19 pandemic, retail jobs were gone over night, with job loss at such levels finding another was impossible for most people. The relief payments for $2,500/- initiated by the Canada was an exemplary effort to support its citizens who lost jobs during the COVID crisis.

Summarize and Opinion: In conclusion, the governments in most countries have regulations and budgeted provisions for provide for the unemployed. If authorities provide support by offering free training programs designed to fill the job gaps in addition to mere compensation to the jobless, it could be the beginning of a new spectrum of multi-skilled society.