Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reading books is a common method of retrieving information and acquisiting more knowledge. Some people argue that it keeps our mind more active than other ways like watching films or television. I strongly agree with this opinion.

Researchers prove that our brain basically requires an amount of time to absorb and proceed the input. While reading, our brain only deals with the text itself and is not distracted by other factors which, therefore, is giving sufficient time to maximizer our understanding. Additionally, it is usually difficult to grab the book authors' idea in a short period, which causes many of us have to read repeatedly. For instance, it might take a normal person one or several days to complete a 10-page book thoroughly.

In contrast, watching films or television tries to stimulate our brain in a passive manner in order to attract our attention. Movie producers put a numerable scenes with lots of graphical animation effects; compose musics with good melodies which, in turn, force our concentration on the display. Another aspect is that television program makers insert many advertisements within a movie as a method of relaxing users. As a consequence, our brain gets overwhelmed by a vast amount of information, which then is pushed to operate in a passive way. Even though a movie is only one or two hours in length, our brain has no room for imagination.

In conclusion, reading books uses a natural mechanism of brain to retrieve information. This maintains our mind active and enhance one's creative thinking as a whole.