The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Since its invention, Internet has changed our ways to access information. Some people argue that this can be better to our society, however, I strongly disagree with that.

The major advantage of Internet is to provide an easy way to look for information. If it was difficult to find information about a company in the past, it is now more convenient and much easier with a computer that has access to the Internet since many companies have opened their owned website and published their profiles to the Internet. Additionally, the Internet is considered as the biggest knowledge resource and students can search for any subject they need. For example, Google Patent provides a free access to all kinds of patents for researchers.

In contrast, people can make use of Internet for bad purposes. Since Internet is an open platform, it is therefore upon on its users. People can access adult websites, which provide violent or pornography contents, and distribute those contents on social networks without permission. Moreover, using wrong information to threaten the safety of a country is the most dangerous factor and causes attention from authorities globally. For example, the knowledge to make a bomb was easily found and shared among the terrorists in the September 11th attack to the US. As a consequence, governments should pay attention to new mechanisms to control the usage of information in the right way.

In summary, exploring information is never easier than before with the help of the Internet, yet it must be use with an appropriate purpose.