Reading is more educational than watching videos or TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning via online videos is gaining popularity among the younger generation. It’s the thought that one can acquire knowledge by reading books rather than visual communication. In my opinion, I partly agree that reading is the best source of medium for educational purpose.

To begin with, reading improves the skills and understanding of the subject in a detailed manner therefore reading is considered more affecting learning in education. It demands more focus and attention from a reader to understand the meaning of the subject in-depth and regularly reading improves the capacity of a student. For instance, a single word skip in reading can change the meaning of a sentence, thus active learning is highly important in reading subjects and it sharpens the brain with every day reading.

On the other hand, some people grasp more information from visual than books. Reading needs more concentration and efforts to understand any education concepts. Instead of going thru hundred pages one can acquire same level information by seeing a two minute video. For example, a three minute video will teach Newton’s law faster than school physics book. Also, digital medium makes learning fun and exciting. This feature attracts numerous children. A substantial amount of time and effort can be saved by using this approach.

To sum up, Digital medium can be used for academic purpose and it is as effective as books and research papers. But not all subjects can be taught using videos and televisions. Important curriculum need to be learned using reading with required focus and attention.