in recent times, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do shopping. is this the positive development or negative?

It is irrefutable that large shopping malls are increased in recent times which push down the businesses of small shopkeepers. In my opinion, this development has resulted in more positive impacts than the negatives.

Let us now throw some light on the positive impacts of the big shopping complexes on the consumers. There is no denying the fact that customers can get everything under one roof which is essential in routine life. To illustrate, Reliance mall assists people to get everything that is used the daily morning to evening. Moreover, these big plazas adopt different means to lure customers such as discount offers, free home delivery, and free parking etcetera. Therefore, the end user thinks about to get the benefits by doing shopping in these malls.

Let us now elaborate on the negative impacts of these large malls on the small shops. No doubt, small shopkeepers have faced a tremendous loss with the establishment of these big malls. Some of the shops have been shut down permanently. Owing to this, their living standard has gone down and many of them are living hand to mouth. For instance, with the development of the BEST Price mall in Bathinda, most of the shopkeepers have closed their shops and moved to small towns. Apart from the above, in some scenarios, this shopping mall culture varnishing the local customs and traditions.

In conclusion, I think, it is a plausible issue which needs further discussion and analysis. However, as far as my concerned, big shopping malls have immense benefits to the modern society outweigh the negative prospects.