In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that the mall culture has expanded as much as it was never before. Impact of such phenomenon on the small scale vendors is soaring concern now. This essay will delve in to positive and negative effects of it and followed by opinion.

On the one hand, such expansion of mall culture has allowed buyers to have one point destination for all of their needs and success of such malls demonstrate the customer's high preferences. However, this inclination of buyers towards these malls left local vendors in trouble. This is because mall owners gives best price, or lower price than a retail market to attract the buyers, and buyer's preference is always towards the saving money which will eventually reduces the customer base of local vendors and they loose the business. Eventually the it would become difficult for a local vendor to support financially to their family. To illustrate this, a survey results of INDIA has shown that due to mall culture more than 20% reduction in the retail customer base.

On the other hand, these big shopping centers gives ample varieties of products to choose from, best ambiance, helping staff member to assist the customers such facilities attracts the more buyers and their sells will increase. Such good sells will allow such mall owners to create more jobs by opening their successive mall in other part of city or province. In recent time to promote the local goods the mall owns also showcase the local items to their customers and they also buy those items. For an instance, in Udaipur many mall showcase handy crafted work of native in their premises and allowed earning to local vendors as well.

To sum up, this mall culture has both positive and negative impact but positive aspects curbs the demerits. I firmly belie in such culture should be promoted.