In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between

equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can

achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal

achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according

to their individual merits.

What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

Success, social equality, and its relationship are increasing concerns in modern communities. While individuals argue that personal achievements are strongly related to egalitarian societies, the rest state that people can get more success when they freely build their dream. However, when it comes to me, I would advocate the latter.

In the first place, the preponderant reason is that every person definitely has a different definition of achievement. In other words, people have various goals in life, namely, being rich, having high status, living a pleasant life, etc. Additionally, the standard of living and thinking also varies remarkably to the human place of origin, making it impossible to allocate the same resources to get different goals. For example, my friend living in the USA chose to follow his dream to be a professor while I decided to make a living after my graduation.

In the second place, it is certain that the equal communities lack competition to make big progress. Getting the same proportion without any effort, people may gradually lose their motivation that is one of the essential elements that constitute social advancement. Needless to say, the process of competing with others help individuals build their own professional and academic success, broaden their prospect, and consequently establish an ideal society where people are paid off by their great endeavour. For instance, diligence and high productivity of their citizen are the pivotal reasons making the extensive and intensive development within 300 years.

All in all, if all factors are contemplated, it is easy to reach the conclusion that people can make their progress in an equal community, and that the relationship between those elements is quite negative.