Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

The majority of central and big cities meet new challenges with old buildings. They are usually in the centre of city and look not so good as new buildings. The authority of many cities decided to renovate most part of historical houses instead of crashing/demolishing it.

Unfortunately, this process of recovery can take a huge part of city’s budget. However, some people consider, that we should spend this money to expand our cities and create new areas and districts. I disagree with this point of view, because for me as a resident of that “new district” it does not seem like a good idea to use method of building new and new zones with huge houses.

Firstly, we have to respect our history and architecture with all their types. This beautiful and superb houses from the past remind us that who we are now and who we were in the past. The old buildings create a unique view of the city and make it famous/attractive for lots of tourists from the all world.

Secondly, unlimited construction of new regions outside city with residential areas can break connections with other parts of city and provide awful consequences for all people of the city, because it means that the government should waste too much time and money to control this separated regions. Sometimes, this kind of areas become slums with high rate of crimes and poverty.

In the Saint-Petersburg, the city where I live, we have the similar problems which was noted above. There are too many isolated districts in the edges of city with a lot of monstrous and huge typical houses for new residents. It is cheaper than house in the centre of city, but it makes disaster for social part of city’s life, because these regions haven’t got any developed infrastructure and transport system.

Finally, it is obvious that humanity should protect our legacy and create all conditions to keep city comfortable and safe for all residents. Thus, it means that restoration of old building should be in the first priority for the government policy.