Many countries consider eighteen year olds to be adults, while other countries don’t. What do you think about it? Give your opinion and some relevant examples based on your own experience.

Certainly, age of majority is very important issue in any society at all times. Meanwhile, countries do not have unified approach for this problem. Many countries consider eighteen year olds to be adults. However, some countries establish another age as maturity. I agree with global trend of majority age at eighteen, but I understand that this issue can have different approach.

Nowadays law in most countries install sets the age of majority at eighteen. Exactly in this age people get legal rights and duties. This approach is consistent to modern life, because in this age people have social, physical, mental and emotional conditions for it. People have a longer life then, for example, in Middle ages, and can became adults later. For instance, at eighteen people usually start their adult life. They go to university or college, have independent home, get first job. Moreover, people's social positions, moral ideas are formed.

However, I believe that issue of age of majority has national, traditional and cultural aspects. For instance, in the Faeroe islands this age is fourteen, in Indonesia - fifteen, in Japan - twenty, in Egypt and some States of America - twenty-one. I think that countries can independently establish this age, because it is important for the electoral process, military service, marriage. But I am concerned if age of majority is too small. Thus, in some Islamic and African countries girls eight or nine year olds can be considered adults, and boys - at the age of ten or eleven year olds. I believe that this approach prevents protection of children and childhood.

In conclusion, age of majority can be different in countries with different social, cultural and economic conditions. Presently eighteen year old is common age of people maturation. Besides, in recent times politicians and sociologists have even considered increasing this age.